Monday, 15 May 2017 20:56

West Florida Men & Barry Women Win NCAA D2 Championships, ITA Regional Awards, Choboy Out At NC State

Written by
Rate this item
(1 Vote)

While the NCAA Division I Tournament got started last weekend the Division II Tournament wrapped up with the West Florida men and Barry women bringing home the trophy. UWF won its fourth national championship, first since 2014, with a 5-2 win over Barry. UWF took two of three doubles matches to go in front 2-1 and then it added straight set wins from Gabriel Dias and Serdar Bojadjiev and Alfonso Castellano provided the clincher with a three set win at No. 6. UWF's recap has more details plus you can rewatch the broadcast of the final at this link.



#1 West Florida 5, #2 Barry 2
May 12, 2017 at Altamonte Springs, Fla. (Sanlando, Fla.)
Singles competition
1. #3 Ahmed Triki (BARRY-MT) vs. #4 Alex Peyrot (UWF) 6-7 (4-7), 6-4, 1-0, unfinished
2. #15 Gabriel Dias (UWF) def. #26 Pierre Montrieul (BARRY-MT) 6-0, 7-6 (7-1)
3. #13 Carlos Gomez (BARRY-MT) vs. #45 Warren Kuhn (UWF) 7-5, 6-6 (3-3), unfinished
4. Serdar Bojadjiev (UWF) def. Nico Dreer (BARRY-MT) 6-3, 7-6 (7-3)
5. Fabian Pronnet (BARRY-MT) def. Pedro Dumont (UWF) 6-1, 6-4
6. Alfonso Castellano (UWF) def. Vivien Versier (BARRY-MT) 3-6, 6-1, 6-4
Doubles competition
1. #1 Alex Peyrot/Pedro Dumont (UWF) def. #2 Ahmed Triki/Pierre Montrieul (BARRY-MT) 8-3
2. #23 Gabriel Dias/Pedro Roese (UWF) def. Carlos Gomez/Thomas Bugeaud (BARRY-MT) 8-5
3. Nico Dreer/Fernando Tous (BARRY-MT) def. Warren Kuhn/Pablo Tellez (UWF) 8-5
Match Notes
West Florida 32-1; National ranking #1
Barry 26-2; National ranking #2
Order of finish: Doubles (1,3,2); Singles (5,4,2,6)
2017 NCAA Division II Tennis Championship
National Championship Match 


While the Barry men's team came up short the women's team did not. Barry won its third national title, all since 2011, with a dominating 5-0 win over fellow Sunshine State Conference member Lynn. Barry swept all three doubles matches to go up 3-0 and then it picked up straight set wins from Ana Pain and Sonja Larsen with Pain clinching at No. 5. 

Barry had defeated Lynn twice during the season with both matches finishing 5-4 but this one obviously went wasn't as close. For more on the match you can read Barry's recap plus you can rewatch the finals broadcast at this link


#2 Barry 5, #3 Lynn 0
05/13/17 at Altamonte Springs, FL (Sanlando Park)
Singles competition
1. #26 Zuza Maciejewska (BARRY-WT) vs. #7 Grace Mpassy (LYNNW) 6-7 (5-7), 1-2, unfinished
2. #11 Dasha Salnikova (BARRY-WT) vs. #17 Rosalie Willig (LYNNW) 6-4, 3-2, unfinished
3. #33 Verena Schmid (BARRY-WT) vs. #30 Diana Bogolii (LYNNW) 6-4, 1-2, unfinished
4. #21 Isa Rapisarda Calvo (BARRY-WT) vs. Stefanie Stemmer (LYNNW) 6-4, 4-3, unfinished
5. Ana Pain (BARRY-WT) def. Martina Gledacheva (LYNNW) 6-0, 6-4
6. Sonja Larsen (BARRY-WT) def. Tereza Hejlova (LYNNW) 6-1, 6-4
Doubles competition
1. #4 Ana Pain/Sonja Larsen (BARRY-WT) def. #3 Rosalie Willig/Stefanie Stemmer (LYNNW) 8-6
2. Zuza Maciejewska/Dasha Salnikova (BARRY-WT) def. #11 Grace Mpassy/Diana Bogolii (LYNNW) 8-4
3. Verena Schmid/Isa Rapisarda Calvo (BARRY-WT) def. Tereza Hejlova/Martina Gledacheva (LYNNW) 8-2
Match Notes
Lynn 24-3; National ranking #3; Regional ranking #2
Barry 30-0; National ranking #2; Regional ranking #1
Order of finish: Doubles (3,2,1); Singles (6,5)
NCAA Division II Women's Tennis Championship
Buccaneers win their third national title
Women's tennis becomes third Barry athletics team to complete perfect season 



The ITA announced the Division I regional award winners on Monday with each region naming a coach of the year, assistant coach of the year, most improved player (senior), senior player of the year, rookie of the year, player to watch, leadership and sportsmanship, and community service award winner. The Virginia men's team claimed all but one award in the Atlantic Region while the Vanderbilt women claimed five of the top six awards in the Ohio Valley Region. A full list of all the winners are available here and a description of the different sportsmanship awards are listed here. The release also mentions the ITA will name its national winners on May 23rd.  

Another Power 5 men's job opened up over the weekend when North Carolina State announced that men's head coach Jon Choboy was stepping down after 15 seasons. Choboy went 217-193 (.529) while leading the team to six NCAA Tournament appearances highlighted by a trip to the Elite Eight in 2007. NC State went 14-15 this past season which followed an 18-14 season with neither resulting in a trip to the NCAA Tournament. Below is a quote from NC State's release:

"I am grateful for the opportunity to lead NC State over the last 15 years," said Choboy. "I appreciate all of the contributions of our players and staff during my tenure, and I'm proud of many of our accomplishments."

As of today these are the higher profile schools that have head coaching openings - Virginia (M/W), USC (W), Tennessee (M), LSU (M), NC State (M), Minnesota (W), and Tulane (W). 


Read 999 times Last modified on Monday, 15 May 2017 22:56

1 comment

  • Comment Link JL Tuesday, 16 May 2017 07:46 posted by JL

    so how do you give a Player to Watch Award to someone who is already Top 5 in the country and is not planning on coming back to school for Fall 2017.
    Some of the awards make no sense, but coaches and players love awards.

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.