The 2017-18 college tennis season officially came to a close today with a few historic firsts in the finals of the singles and doubles championships. Ole Miss senior Arianne Hartono won the school's first NCAA Women's Singles Championship with a 6-4, 6-2 win over Pepperdine sophomore No. 17 Ashley Lahey in a match that was played indoors due to rain. Hartono, who finished the regular season ranked No. 7 and was seeded No. 6, defeated Pepperdine's top three in the final three matches with the other wins coming over No. 22 Mayar Sherif 2-6, 7-6(5), 7-6(2) in the semifinals and No. 27 Luisa Stefani 6-2, 4-6, 6-2 in the quarterfinals. Hartono also had wins over Georgia Tech's No. 14 Paige Hourigan, Washington's No. 47 Vanessa Wong, and Oklahoma State's No. 20 Vladica Babic. 

Ole Miss's only other NCAA Singles Championship came in 2009 when current men's assistant Devin Britton won the title as a freshman. 

Published in Blogs