Select Page
Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

New Mexico State Director of Athletics Mario Moccia named Emily Wang as the Aggies new women’s head coach. Wang, who graduated from Illinois in 2007, had been the head coach at Eastern Illinois for the last two seasons posting a 28-17 (.622) record. Wang replaces Ivan Fernandez who left after seven seasons to take the women’s head coaching job at UTEP.  Below are some quotes from NMSU’s release:

“Interest in our head women’s tennis position was overwhelming,” Moccia said. “Emily rose to the top during the process and I was glad we were able to recruit her to NM State. With her playing background in the Big 10 at Illinois and her returning Eastern Illinois to success they haven’t seen in 25 years, I’m very confident she will do a tremendous job as our next head coach. I’d like to thank Erica Perkins Jasper, the ITA COO, for assisting me as well. Her knowledge of collegiate tennis coaches around the country was instrumental in our decision making.”

“New Mexico State is a top-notch university, and I am excited to be part of the strong culture and part of the Aggie Athletics family,” Wang said. “The women’s tennis team has a lot of talent and potential. I’m excited to get on campus and look forward to a successful year.”


Jamie Peterson had the interim tag removed and is now officially the women’s head coach at Towson University. After serving as Towson’s assistant coach for two years, Peterson led the Tigers to a 13-12 record last year in an interim role after Doug Neagle took the head coaching position at Nova Southeastern. Below is a quote from Towson’s release

“I am honored to be given the opportunity of head women’s tennis coach at Towson University,” Peterson said. “Towson University and the sport of tennis are two things I have a tremendous amount of passion for having played four years and making a career in tennis. I look forward to bringing that passion to the team and leading a positive culture of hard work, accountability and confidence that will breed team success.”


{loadposition ads}


Mike Morgan was named the women’s head coach at Pomona-Pitzer. Morgan had spent the last 11 years as the women’s head coach at Middlebury where he led the team to a 159-73 record. Morgan replaces Anne Lebedeff who retired after 38 years of coaching with the last 19 coming at Pomona-Pitzer. 

Rachel Kahan was named the interim women’s head coach at Middlebury replacing Mike Morgan who took the job at Pomona-Pitzer. Kahan served as the assistant coach last year after playing at Duke from 2010 to 2015. 

Sebastian Rey was named the men’s assistant coach at Middle Tennessee State. Rey graduated from Tulane this past May and replaces Daniel Leitner who left to become the women’s assistant at Iowa. 

Ben Mullis was named the men’s assistant coach at Pepperdine. Mullis, who graduated from Drake in 2015, had been the men’s assistant at Utah State for the last two years. Mullis replaces Martin Parkes who departed after one year but still remains at Pepperdine as a tennis coach at Crest Associates.  

Keri Wong was named the women’s assistant coach at Tulane. Wong, who graduated from Clemson in 2012, played on the pro tour for the last five years while also serving as a volunteer assistant at Clemson for the last three years. Wong replaces Chris Simpson who is now the men’s assistant at Tulane after spending the last two seasons as the women’s assistant. 

Jon Wegener was named the women’s assistant coach at James Madison. Wegener, who graduated from Taylor University in 2013, had spent the last three years as a volunteer/graduate assistant at Ball State which is where he started his collegiate career before transferring to Taylor.

Erin Bryce was named the women’s head coach at Mary Baldwin University. Bryce, who graduated from the University of Tampa in 2007, had been the women’s assistant at James Madison for the last three years.

The following coaches were promoted from assistant to associate head coach: Jeff Nevolo (South Carolina women), Kyle Bailey (South Carolina men), Scoville Jenkins (Wisconsin men), and Matt Langley (Arizona State women).